Up فوق Maharishi The Administration
Home المدخل Subscribe Guest Book Copyright Site Map Related Sites Contact Us

Maharishi's Achievements

  Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

Download detailed Maharishi's Achievements (PDF file 1.55mb)

A Glimpse of Fifty-One Years Around the World

The auspicious year of 1957 is celebrated as the inaugural year of Maharishi’s worldwide Transcendental Meditation Movement, but Maharishi has explained that the Movement truly began in the blissful, infinite silence of his Master, Shri Guru Dev, Maha Yogiraj, His Divinity Brahmanand Saraswati, Maharaj, Jagatguru Bhagavan Shankaracharya of Jyotir Math, Badrikashram, Himalayas. Guru Dev is revered as the embodiment of Vedic Wisdom closest to Maharishi in the great Tradition of Vedic Masters who have passed down the eternal wisdom of life from teacher to student since time immemorial.

‘The Vedic Tradition, upheld in its purity by a long history of custodians, enshrines the supreme knowledge of the integration of life. From time to time a revival of man’s understanding of the eternal wisdom of this Holy Tradition arises to rescue him from suffering, restoring him to the speedy path of evolution, and awakening him to a meaningful life in fulfilment. The Masters of this Tradition have been exponents of reality from earliest ages. In each new epoch, they have propounded the enduring truths of practical living and have set out those standards by which men’s lives may attain the highest achievements and fulfillment, generation after generation’ — Maharishi

In 1953, after twelve years of service to the feet of Guru Dev, Maharishi retired to the caves of the ‘Valley of the Saints’ in Uttar Kash¡, high in the Himålayas. Deep in the silence of the Himålayas, the impulse of Nature itself led Maharishi in 1955 to leave his secluded life in Uttar Kash¡ and travel to the southern-most tip of India, with no other thought or plan in his mind than simply to follow the whisper of Nature, ‘Råmeshvaram’ [Kerala]. But in this innocent move was contained the blueprint of a new age and a new civilization, just as the sprouting of a seed has all the vitality to expand and produce the fruit, season after season.

Years later Maharishi recalled: ‘Coming from the Himålayas, I had the thought—it was very fresh in mind—that it is not necessary for man to suffer. All the literature in India is full of beautiful exaltations. The Veda says, “Amritasya putrå˙—O sons of Immortality!”—addressing all mankind as sons of immortality. The Veda says, “Of Ånand [bliss] all this is born, in Ånand all this is sustained, and to Ånand all this is going.” But where is the reality of this in the day-to-day life of the people?’ With singular purpose, Maharishi began to offer the technique of Transcendental Meditation in the name of Guru Dev, for people everywhere to experience unbounded Bliss Consciousness and integrate it into daily life. What emerges from the events of the next fifty-three years is a clear picture of how Nature, working through Maharishi, has changed the destiny of time from the suffering of ignorance to the dawn of a golden age—Sat-Yuga—Heaven on Earth.

Reflecting on Maharishi’s Achievements, we are reminded of words Maharishi used to describe the life of Guru Dev: ‘The greatest attainment of a saint is his life itself, the high edifice of realized Upanishadic living that develops from direct experience of reality. To understand that inner personality one must approach such realized souls with an open and receptive mind and try to visualize the great internal life that is the basis of their actual and real form of living.’

1957 Maharishi’s Year of Transcendental Meditation

1958 Maharishi’s Year of Spiritual Regeneration Movement

1959 Maharishi’s Year of Global Awakening

1960 Maharishi’s Year of Cosmic Consciousness

1961 Maharishi’s Year of Teacher Training

1962 Maharishi’s Year of Theory of the Absolute

1963 Maharishi’s Year of the Science of Being and Art of Living

1964 Maharishi’s Year of God Consciousness

1965 Maharishi’s Year of Bhagavad-G¡tå

1966 Maharishi’s Year of Academy of Meditation

1967 Maharishi’s Year of Unity Consciousness

1968 Maharishi’s Year of Students

1969 Maharishi’s Year of Supreme Knowledge

1970 Maharishi’s Year of Scientific Research

1971 Maharishi’s Year of Science of Creative Intelligence

1972 Maharishi’s Year of the World Plan

1973 Maharishi’s Year of Action for the World Plan

1974 Maharishi’s Year of Achievement of the World Plan

1975 Maharishi’s Year of the Dawn of the Age of Enlightenment

1976 Maharishi’s Year of Government

1977 Maharishi’s Year of Ideal Society

1978 Maharishi’s Year of Invincibility to Every Nation

1979 Maharishi’s Year of All Possibilities

1980 Maharishi’s Year of Pure Knowledge, the Veda

1981 Maharishi’s Year of Vedic Science

1982 Maharishi’s Year of Natural Law

1983 Maharishi’s Year of the Unified Field

1984 Maharishi’s Year of Unified Field-Based Civilization

1985 Maharishi’s Year of Unified Field-Based Education

1986 Maharishi’s Year of Perfect Health

1987 Maharishi’s Year of World Peace

1988 Maharishi’s Year of Achieving World Peace

1989 Maharishi’s Year of Heaven on Earth

1990 Maharishi’s Year of Alliance with Nature’s Government

1991 Maharishi’s Year of Support of Nature’s Government

1992 Maharishi’s Year of The Constitution of The Universe

1993 Maharishi’s Year of Administration through Natural Law—Raam Raj

1994 Maharishi’s Year of Discovery of Veda in Human Physiology

1995 Maharishi’s Year of Silence

1996 Maharishi’s Year of Awakening

1997 Maharishi’s Year of Global Administration through Natural Law

1998 Maharishi’s Second Year of Global Administration through Natural Law

1999 Maharishi’s Third Year of Global Administration through Natural Law

2000 Maharishi’s Fourth Year of Global Administration through Natural Law

2001 Maharishi’s Year of Global Country of World Peace

2002 Maharishi’s Year of Raam Mudra

2003 Maharishi’s Year of Ideal Government—Raam Raj

2004 Maharishi’s Year of Peace Palaces

2005 Maharishi’s Year of Golden Jubilee

2006 Maharishi’s Year of Reconstruction for the Whole World to be Heaven on Earth—First Year of Sat-Yuga

2007 Maharishi’s Year of Capital of Global Raam Raj

2008 Maharishi’s Year of Invincibility—Global Raam Raj

Download detailed Maharishi's Achievements (PDF file 1.55mb)

Jai Guru Dev

Top of Page


Up فوق Next التالي

Copyright © Maharishi Health Education Center
Telephone: 961-3-258868
P.O. Box 116-5350 Beirut - Lebanon
Last modified: 30/08/2012